Math, Science, Reading and Writing Resources and Platforms


Math

Algebra for Children http://www.algebraforchildren.com/
Blackline masters http://lrt.ednet.ns.ca/PD/BLM/table_of_contents.htm#newblm
Cliff's Notes like the old Cliff's notes study guides https://www.cliffsnotes.com/study-guides
Cool Math (all kinds of calculators) http://www.coolmath.com/calculators/index.html
Education World Math practice 4 you -basic math drill sheets http://www.educationworld.com/a_lesson/archives/math_practice_4_you.shtml
Illuminations Resources for Teaching Math (virtual manipulatives) http://illuminations.nctm.org/Default.aspx
Khan Academy https://www.khanacademy.org/

Sal Khan on TED Talks - Let's teach for mastery -- not test scores

Lego Education https://education.lego.com/en-us/lesi/elementary/lego-education-moretomath
Matific Math Activities K-6 https://www.matific.com/us/en-us?gclid=CJOywquhlMYCFc4XHwodFC8Ang
Math and Science ESE resources - wiki created by Kitt Kelleher (formerly of FDLRS REACH) in Broward County Math and Science
Math Dictionary http://www.amathsdictionaryforkids.com/
Math discussion group http://naturalmath.com/mathfuture/
Math Help http://www.mathhelp.com/
Math is Fun Games, activities, worksheet, puzzles, etc http://www.mathsisfun.com/index.htm
Math TV visual demonstrations in English and Spanish http://www.mathtv.com/
Math You Tube tutorials http://www.mathispower4u.com/
National Library of Virtual Manipulatives http://nlvm.usu.edu/
Patrick Just Math Tutorials short video demonstrations http://patrickjmt.com/

PhotoMath App
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/photomath-camera-calculator/id919087726?mt=8

That Quiz (create on-line math quiz) http://www.thatquiz.org/
The Art of Problem Solving video demos http://artofproblemsolving.com/videos
Utah Education Network http://www.uen.org/3-6interactives/math.shtml#fractions
Utah Education Network 3-6 interactive activities http://www.uen.org/3-6interactives/
Visual Fractions (virtual manipulatives) http://www.visualfractions.com/
Math Apps compiled by Kitt Kelleher (FDLRS Reach)

Sciences

Bill Nye, the Science Guy http://www.billnye.com/
Biodigital https://www.biodigital.com/education
Edheads virtual reality jobs involving science or math http://www.edheads.org/
Energy Information Association (lesson plans and resources at all grade levels) http://www.eia.gov/kids/
Google Earth http://earth.google.com/
Inner Body Human anatomy interactive http://www.innerbody.com/
Interactives science site http://interactivesites.weebly.com/science.html
NASA interactive site http://spaceplace.nasa.gov/
National Geographic http://kids.nationalgeographic.com/kids/
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Resources http://www.education.noaa.gov/CollectionArchive.html
Science Bob (Ideas for science fair, research help, and lots more) http://www.sciencebob.com/index.php
Science Made Fun (elementary) http://www.sciencemadefunkids.net/index.cfm
Smart Learning for All http://www.smartlearningforall.com/
Spongelab A global stem community http://www.spongelab.com/browse/

Tinkercad Simple online 3D design app https://www.tinkercad.com/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=60xfIu-lqAs check out this video also -https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CSEvXe1qRBI
Zydeco App Created for on-the-go science exploration (but can be used with most any subject) A joint project of the University of Michigan and Michigan State http://zydeco.soe.umich.edu/
Science Apps compiled by Kitt Kelleher (FDLRS Reach)

Reading and writing

Blachan.com/shahi/ Visual dictionary http://blachan.com/shahi/
Brainy quotes inspiring quotes by well known people https://www.brainyquote.com/
Breaking News English (valuable site for ELL) http://www.breakingnewsenglish.com/
Crossword Puzzle maker http://www.armoredpenguin.com/crossword/
EasyBib creates citations for books, videos, websites, and other sources in the common MLA format (free version) http://www.easybib.com/
Edublog Educational blog site - collaborative publishing and communication http://edublogs.org/
Free Reading activities http://www.freereading.net/
LEaRN (Literacy Essentials and Reading Network) a library of learning videos http://learn.nefec.org/
Newsela change the lexile of an article https://newsela.com
Rewordify simplifies and explains difficult English words http://rewordify.com/
Readworks.org reading passages at specific lexile levels https://www.readworks.org
Scholastic reading resources - various resources to make and use https://www.scholastic.com/teachers/home/
Scrible take notes on internet articles while online https://www.scrible.com/
Speakaboo http://www.speakaboos.com/
Storyline Online Members of the Screen Actors Guild bring stories to life by reading http://www.storylineonline.net/
Storynory audible stories http://storynory.com/
Cool Tools for Teaching Vocabulary Susan Oxvenad http://d97cooltools.blogspot.com/2011/07/cool-tools-for-teaching-vocabulary.html#.WWJ1l4jyuMo (her entire site is quite amazing)
Wordpress basic free website and blog platforms, with the option for upgrades https://wordpress.com/
Writing and Google Docs http://www.fractuslearning.com/2013/10/21/teaching-writing-google-docs/
Tech Tools for Reading http://techtoolsforreading.wikispaces.com/Tech+Tools+for+Reading
Vocabahead - Dictionary with videos http://www.vocabahead.com
45 pages of Greatest Hits for Educators - an older resource but many still worthwhile

Social Studies (content sites)

CrashCourse a Youtube social studies channel https://www.youtube.com/user/crashcourse/search?query=social+studies
DocsTeach online tool for teaching with documents from the National Archives https://www.archives.gov/education an iOS app is also available
EdSitement from the National Endowment for the Humanities http://edsitement.neh.gov/
EdTechTeacher best of history websites http://besthistorysites.net/
Smithsonian Learning Lab https://learninglab.si.edu/
Stanford History Education Group https://sheg.stanford.edu/history-lessons
Teaching American History http://teachingamericanhistory.org/
Teaching Tolerance https://www.tolerance.org/
The Gilder Lehrman Institute https://www.gilderlehrman.org/